International Bluegrass Music Awards, 2009- How I Did…   Leave a comment


>>>Updated Oct. 1 as the awards were posted on the IBMA site.<<<In less than 24 hours, they’ll start handing out the hardware in Nashville. I gave up my IBMA membership a couple years back for a variety of reasons- some logical and a few completely indefensible to anyone but me- and therefore am no longer a voting member of the organization. But, I do enjoy playing along at home. I realize the IBMA and bluegrass in general is of little interest to most- but feel free to make your picks as I list mine in the major categories. As for the IBMA Hall of Fame, I’m sure the Dillards and the Lonesome Pine Fiddlers are worthy…but not at the expense of Hazel Dickens and Ola Belle Reed. Come on, already- get the ladies in! The full list of nominees is posted at the IBMA site: http://www.ibma.org/ibma.awards/currentpress/nomineeslist.asp

Last year’s winners, when mentioned, are in italics. I have placed the recipients in bold.

Entertainer of the Year:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Who I Think Will Win: Dailey & Vincent

Vocal Group:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Blue Highway

Who I Think Will Win: Dailey & Vincent

Instumental Group:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Who I Think Will Win: Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Male Vocalist:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Junior Sisk

Who I Think Will Win: Jamie Dailey Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Dale Ann Bradley

Who I Think Will Win: Dale Ann Bradley

Album of the Year:

Who I Would Have Voted For: Blue Side of the Blue Ridge- Junior Sisk & Rambler’s Choice

Who I Think Will Win: Dailey & Vincent- Brothers from Different Brothers Wheels- Dan Tyminski Band

Song of the Year: and, if I might say, a bit of a weak crop of nominees

Who I Would Have Voted For: “Don’t Throw Mama’s Flowers Away- Danny Paisley & the Southern Grass (songwriters- Chris Stuart & Ivan Rosenberg)

Who I Think Will Win: “Wheels” Dan Tyminski Band

Instumental Performers-

Banjo- Sammy Shelor- Steve Martin Kristin Scott Benson

Bass- Marshall Wilborn– Mike Bub

Fiddle- Michael Cleveland- Hunter Berry

Dobro- Andy Hall- Andy Hall Rob Ickes

Guitar- I can’t be bothered.- Bryan Sutton Josh Williams

Mandolin- Jesse BrockAdam Steffey

What do you think?

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee! Hopefully, I’ll update things tomorrow evening. >>>I didn’t do too badly in my predictions and was especially pleased to see so many of my choices actually get awards; quite unusual that. For Marshall and Jesse, this is a long time coming. Congratulations! I had hoped- and nothing against Rob Ickes- that Andy Hall would break through this year, but maybe I’m a bit early on that. I’m pleased to see that no fewer than 7 of the recipients have performed for the Waskasoo Bluegrass Music Society, the club I do the bookings for in Red Deer, AB- Jesse Brock (three times), Marshall Wilborn (twice), Chris Stuart and Ivan Rosenberg, Michael Cleveland (twice), Josh Williams, and Dale Ann Bradley (soon to be twice as she returns Nov. 8) Not a lot to argue with, and it’s nice to see the latest Daughters of Bluegrass project recognized, albeit for but one song. Donald<<<

Posted 2009 September 30 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

