My Favourite Roots Albums of the Year 2009   Leave a comment


My top 21 albums of the year- in no particular order beyond #1 & #2 which are either Dale Ann Bradley’s Don’ t Turn Your Back or John Wort Hannam’s Queen’s Hotel, depending on the day and my mood. This list was submitted to the Postcard 2 survey with one exception; I only just heard the latest from Nanci Griffith and fell for it immediately.

I thought it was another outstanding year for roots music; I likely listened to more music than ever and know I enjoyed so many different sounds. I was glad that I didn’t have to listen to quite as much acoustic twee-folk as in the past. You’ll notice my list includes several Fervor Coulee favourites who either continued to produce outstanding music or made fine comebacks after a few years away. Not too much ‘off the radar’ music, but I’m not in a competition to discover the most unheard music. Thanks for visiting throughout the year- Donald

Dale Ann Bradley’s Don’ t Turn Your Back

The Duke & the King- Nothing Gold Can Stay

Guy Clark- Some Days the Song Writes You

Bill Callahan- Sometimes I Wish We Were Eagles

Loudon Wainwright III- High Wide and Handsome- The Charlie Poole Project

Dave Alvin & the Guilty Women- Dave Alvin & the Guilty Women

Danny Barnes- Pizza Box

Dave Rawlings Machine- A Friend of a Friend

Great Lake Swimmers- Lost Channels

Steve Forbert- The Place and the Time

 Sam Bush- Circles Around Me

The Deep Dark Woods- Winter Hours

The Undesirables- Travelling Show

Leeroy Stagger- Everything Is Real

John Wort Hannam- Queen’s Hotel

Dry Branch Fire Squad- Echoes of the Mountain

The Wooden Sky- If I Don’t Come Home You’ll Know I’m Gone

Various Artists- Things About Comin’ My Way- A Tribute to the Music of the Mississippi Sheiks

Mike Plume Band- 8:30 Newfoundland

David Davis & the Warrior River Boys- Two Dimes & A Nickel

Nanci Griffith- The Loving Kind

Leave a Reply

