Kasey Anderson- Free Music   Leave a comment


Links dead. And, given his legal challenges of last year, my final sentence about Kasey just rings too prophetic….

I don’t know Kasey Anderson. When his songs come on shuffle, sometimes I notice them and other times I don’t. But when I do…dang, they ring true- honest, ripped of all pretense or false pride- all that stuff Steve Earle is always going on about what makes a song or a songwriter important- I was just watching the excellent Ron Sexsmith movie on HBO Canada and Earle, man he says stuff that sounds so freaking profound without even seemingly to focus on what he’s saying. Anyway…

Kasey Anderson is pretty cool, too: he has a great Tumblr site (whatever Tumblr is) http://kaseyanderson.tumblr.com/ called Lost in the Supermarket that always has something of interest- a video from prime-time E Street Band, an exchange from an interview, sometimes just a random picture. He seems like a musician that I could actually stand spending time with…not that he could stand being around me.

He also has a new EP that he is giving away free.  On Textiles on Main Street. Kasey covers Bruce Springsteen, Robyn (honestly, I have no idea who that is!), Lyle Lovett, Tom Waits, and Townes Van Zandt- all of whom I do know. Well, not know…

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the EP other than it is over too soon. Lots of what used to be called rock ‘n’ roll guitars on this one.

http://www.kaseyanderson.com/news/textiles-on-main-st is the link that will get you there. After you listen to this one, spend some money on one of his albums. He looks like he could use the dough.

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. Donald

Leave a Reply

