Katy Moffatt & Andrew Hardin- Live in Red Deer   Leave a comment


The first time I heard Katy Moffatt was in about 1985 and she was opening for Loretta Lynn at the Jubilee Auditorium in Edmonton. It seems like I’ve always known Katy Moffatt and her music but I know that isn’t possible. I thought for a bit this evening that I may have first heard her on one of those priceless Nashville Network shows, probably the one hosted by Ralph Emery. I know she sang “Papacita (Mama Rita)” on the program because I have a video of that in one of the boxes around here somewhere. I realize now that I wouldn’t have recorded the clip had I not already known who she was. 

Experiencing Katy Moffatt twice in quick succession during a university year made me a devoted fan. I last heard Katy Moffatt when I found her (quite unexpectedly on my part) opening a show with David Wilkie for the Del McCoury Band in Calgary about five or more years ago. Performing mostly cowboy/western songs, I can’t say I enjoyed that encounter as much as my earliest ones.

I am more than thrilled to announced to the world that Katy Moffatt and Andrew Hardin (who I, like almost everyone, first heard accompanying Tom Russell) are coming to Red Deer to perform a house concert on October 1- the Jeans Joint will be the place to be that evening, especially after enjoying an afternoon of bluegrass over at the Canadian Supreme Horse Show- more on that soon. Details pasted below: come on out and support independent, roots music. Andy and Laura are a brave couple having hosted 20 house concerts over the past couple years. They can be reached at rajco[at]telusplanet.net

Hi there! We’ve got another great show coming up in a few weeks. We are really excited to welcome some wonderful artists from south of the border, on Saturday October 1. Our headliner is Katy Moffatt from Texas. Katy has such a rich history in American roots music that I could fill a few pages. But instead, please read her fantastic bio here – http://www.katymoffatt.com/bio.html Katy will be accompanied by Andrew Hardin, an accomplished guitarist who has collaborated with a who’s who of roots music heavyweights, and also produced Katy’s latest release “Fewer Things”. Check out Andrew’s story here – http://www.andrewhardin.com/bio.html

Katy and Andrew are touring with an opening act, John Fullbright, a promising singer/songwriter from Oklahoma. Here’s his website – http://www.johnfullbrightmusic.com/bio/

As usual, we will be having a chow-down before the show, followed by a short set from John and finishing with a longer set from Katy and Andrew. Everything starts at 6 pm. Tickets $25. BYOB

This is our 20th show and we may have a few surprises to mark the occasion (no scatting, though), so reserve your tickets soon!

Thanks, Laura and Andy

PS – check out these videos, too. Katy and Andrew – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qbvW9bi8bY

Andrew – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XwH6j9-qaFc&feature=related

John – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEpQNzZKqxs&feature=player_embedded#!

Leave a Reply

