IBMA Awards 2011   Leave a comment


8:48- The Gibson Brothers sounded very good, as have most of the performers tonight. “Help My Brother;” I haven’t bought that album yet, but I’ll need to do so.

Another break. Chris talks to KSB.

8:52- I think we’re down to five awards. My percentage has taken a beating, especially on the how I would have voted side of things.

8:53- Back to the stage of the Ryman. Steve Martin and Sam Bush together to present the Gossip Recorded Performance of the Year.

GOSPEL RECORDED PERFORMANCE OF THE YEAR

“God’s Front Porch,” Lou Reid & Carolina (artists), Dennis Duff (songwriter), Lou Reid (producer), Rural Rhythm Christian (label)

“He Can Be Found,” The Gibson Brothers (artists), Ella Barrett & Faye Cunningham (songwriters), Eric & Leigh Gibson and Mike Barber (producers), Compass Records (label)

“In God’s Hands,” The Boxcars (artists), John Benjamin Rochester (songwriter), The Boxcars (producers), Mountain Home (label)

“Prayer Bells of Heaven;” J.D. Crowe, Doyle Lawson & Paul Williams (artists); J.F. Lowe & H.W. Ward (songwriters); Ben Isaacs (producer); Mountain Home (label)

“Sailing On,” Russell Moore & Dale Ann Bradley (artists), Rick Lang (songwriter), Jesse Brock & John Miller (producers), Rural Rhythm Christian (label)

“Prayer Bells…” perhaps? Let’s see…The award goes to…“Prayer Bells in Heaven.”

One of my favourite bluegrass gospel songs. Yup, I need to get this one.

A bedtime joke from Doyle at JD’s expense.

8:58- More nice words about Monroe around songs.

SONG OF THE YEAR

“Help My Brother,” The Gibson Brothers (artists), Leigh Gibson (songwriter)

“I Am Strong;” The Grascals featuring Dolly Parton (artists); Jamie Johnson, Susanne Mumpower-Johnson, Jenee Fleenor (songwriters)

“I’ll Take Love,” Dale Ann Bradley with Alison Krauss & Steve Gulley (artists), Louisa Branscomb & Dale Ann Bradley (songwriters)

“Trains I Missed;” Balsam Range (artists); Walt Wilkins, Gilles Godard, Nicole Witt (songwriters)

“Walkin’ West to Memphis,” The Gibson Brothers (artists), Chris Henry (songwriter)

And the 2011 IBMA Song of the Year is…“Trains I Missed;” Balsam Range (artists); Walt Wilkins, Gilles Godard, Nicole Witt (songwriters)

Wow! Welcome to the IBMA awards!

By the way, I just bought Look to the Light- I meant to save it to my wish list and hit download- I didn’t even notice right away. I hope it is good!

Posted 2011 September 29 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

