Doc Watson   Leave a comment


There is no good way to die.

Doc Watson has been quite possibly the most important gateway to bluegrass and roots music I’ve had. From the first time I heard him, most likely on Marty Stuart’s Busy Bee Cafe album, I’ve been a fan.

I made my first American bluegrass trip in 2001 simply to catch him in concert Tacoma. Somehow, I scored a single first row centre seat. Never have I felt so blessed to have been in attendance at a concert of a legend as he and Jack Lawrence held court. A couple years ago, I saw him at Hardly Strictly. It was apparent that the previous decade had taken its toll, but the fingers still flew over the strings of his guitar.

Today comes the news that we’ve been dreading all week. Should this be the end for Doc Watson, the world will lose a legend. He bridged the bluegrass, folk, and old-time worlds like few, if any, ever have. http://bluegrasstoday.com/42372/watson-family-called-to-docs-side/

“Let me pick one, son.”

Posted 2012 May 27 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

