IBMA Awards 2012, part 17

If there is justice- and there ain’t- Jr. Sisk is the next bluegrass superstar. Heck, he may even be Emerging Artist of the Year next year.

Emerging Artist of the Year

  • Darin & Brooke Aldridge
  • Della Mae
  • Joe Mullins & the Radio      Ramblers
  • Frank Solivan & Dirty      Kitchen
  • The Darrell Webb Band

A very deserving win for Joe Mullins & the Radio Ramblers. While he and they fit the award criteria…oh, well, they won! I really thought the Aldridges would win this time out.

Album of the Year

  • All In by The Boxcars      (artists & producers), Mountain Home Records
  • Paper Airplane by Alison Krauss & Union      Station (artists & producers), Rounder Records
  • Prime Tyme by Russell Moore &      IIIrd Tyme Out (artists & producers), Rural Rhythm Records
  • Sounds Of Home by Blue Highway (artists      & producers), Rounder Records
  • The Heart of a Song by Junior Sisk &      Ramblers Choice (artists), Wes Easter & Ramblers Choice (producers),      Rebel Records

What if Junior Sisk wins? Man, that would be something. Or AKUS, after all these years. I would be happy with them doing it, but think Blue Highway put together, start to finish, the strongest album…Holy, shite! Yes! I really can’t believe that Junior Sisk got the most votes. I listened to that album likely more than all the others combined. I am so happy for him and his- I told ya- the next bluegrass superstar. Finally.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s