Bluegrass Today Top 30 for 2012 and, just for a giggle, Billboard’s   Leave a comment


You may recall that about a year or so ago I attempted to comment semi-regularly on Bluegrass Today’s airplay chart. I gave up after a bit because, well, I got bored of doing so and I didn’t have too much to add to the conversation. Their 2012 year-end chart has been published, and you can find it here. It is pretty interesting to scan. As well, regular Bluegrass Today contributor Daniel Mullins shared Billboard’s top 15 selling bluegrass albums as well as his own favourites that didn’t make the list; those are here under Bobby Osborne Muttonchops.

You may have noticed that I didn’t go ahead with my usual year-end lists this season. That was a decision I was forced into because of the move; quite simply, too many albums went missing during and after the move- misplaced, misboxed- and I wasn’t comfortable attempting to whittle things down in any way that could have been considered comprehensive.

What I do plan to do…sometime in the next few days/weeks…is to create a short list of ten or so albums I wish I had written about in 2012, albums that definitely deserved my attention. As an example, I just found this evening three bluegrass albums that I misplaced this autumn- listened to them a lot in November, but slipped them into an overnight bag and didn’t rediscover until tonight. That is basically a snapshot of my last six months- opening a box, bag, drawer, and exclaiming, “O, that’s where those went.”

Hey, Happy freakin’ New Year, y’all. Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee.

 

Posted 2013 January 1 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

