Stephen Fearing in Red Deer March 7   Leave a comment


stacks_image_8A little less than a month from tonight, one of Canada’s most consistently acclaimed folkish songwriters and vocalists visits Red Deer. He plays at  the Elks Lodge on March 7. The show is part of a tour in support of his new album Between Hurricanes.

According to his publist, “Between Hurricanes comes seven years after his JUNO Award winning Yellowjacket. The title refers to all the things that happened during that period. Stephen went through a divorce, got remarried, and become a father. He also ended his relationship with both his record label, True North, and his manager, Bernie Finkelstein. Musically, he recorded and released Blackie and the Rodeo Kings’ Polaris Prize nominated Kings and Queens (with artists such as Emmylou Harris and Lucinda Williams) his acclaimed collaboration with Andy White, Fearing & White.”
I’ve written about Fearing before, reviewing his collaboration with Andy White and Blackie & the Rodeo Kings, too. I’m pretty sure there are other pre-Fervor Coulee reviews floating around, as well.
Fearing writes on his website: “‘“All the fast roads and the back roads, stretched between the hurricanes’ I wrote this line after stumbling upon the title for this recording. After some consideration, “Between Hurricanes” seemed like such a beautiful image for this album and  a perfect title to boot.. In the past, choosing an album title is one of the very last things I do before releasing the final master, however this record has been different in so many ways and I had the title long before the final song was finished… but let me step back a bit and explain.In 2006, I released Yellowjacket and though I didn’t know it at the time, that record marked the end of many things and as is often the case, the beginning of so many more. My marriage of 14 years ended shortly after the record came out. Hard on the heels of this devastation, True North – my home on record for over a decade – changed hands. I was still under contract to TN, but the writing was on the wall and it quickly became apparent that it was time for me to move on, so I released The Man Who Married Music – The Best of Stephen Fearing to mark the end of a very important era. Around about the same time, my dear friend and manager, Bernie Finkelstein, started to make noises about cutting back on his workload. Bernie and I had been together through thick and thin for over 16 years, but I realized that it was time for me to step out from under his wing and since he no was no longer at the helm of True North, I knew it was time to move on and become fully independent. Blackie and The Rodeo Kings had made a similar move the year before and in hindsight, 2006 was when one could no-longer ignore the smell of shit that was hitting the record business fan. Being under contract to a label such as True North was suddenly unappealing at best and even more, a liability for an artist such as myself. Clearly it was time to let go of the old ties and step out into the brave new world of Facebook, Twitter, self-promotion and true independence.”Advance tickets available here.

Posted 2013 February 9 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

