Peter Rowan- The Old School review   1 comment


1368464059_frontI am making an attempt at playing ‘catch up;’ over the past month, I have received several wonderful albums from various labels, and just haven’t had the opportunity to focus on my writing to give them the attention they warrant. Receiving even less time have been the albums I’ve purchased over an even longer period of time.

I spent this morning listening to Peter Rowan’s terrific new album, The Old School. One has to love Peter Rowan, not only for what he has done in the past, but for the music he has continued to create as he has slowly become a ‘senior’ member of the bluegrass community. From where I sit, there are few more esoteric characters within bluegrass than Rowan, and no matter what he does, he does it well.

My review of The Old School has been posted over at Fervor Coulee Bluegrass within the Country Standard Time site, right about here. Since I received the album from Compass last month, I’ve likely given it ten or twelve listens, and it just keeps getting better with each play- it is remarkable at how cohesive the album feels, and sounds, given how many hands (and voices) were involved in its execution. Another winner from Compass Records.

As always, thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. I appreciate you sticking with me. Donald

One response to “Peter Rowan- The Old School review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Fervor Coulee’s Favourite Roots Music Albums of 2013 | Fervor Coulee- roots music opinion

Leave a Reply

