Why Corb Lund’s Cabin Fever Should Win the 2013 Polaris Music Prize   Leave a comment


2373Since I gave up the newspaper column last year, I haven’t had too many opportunities for ‘high’ (or, even low) profile writing gigs, but the folks at the Polaris Music Prize gave me the assignment of writing a treatise on why I believe Corb Lund’s Cabin Fever should not only make the Short List (to be announced on July 16), but why it should take the title of the year’s best Canadian album. My piece was posted this AM, and is available to view on the Polaris website HERE.

Several other writers have also posted their defence of other albums on the website, but theirs’ don’t matter- Corb should win. Of the albums on the Long List, by quite a distance it is my favourite. Now that I think of it, I don’t believe I shared my ‘short list’ ballot, so here it is: #1 Corb, #2 Old Man Luedecke #3 Lee Harvey Osmond #4 Hayden #5 Lindi Ortega…at least, that is how the note on my desk reads…I may have been inebriated if that is what I submitted. No Kobo Town? Hmm.

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. Donald

Posted 2013 July 10 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

