Roots Song of the Week: Donna the Buffalo- I See How You Are   Leave a comment


untitledLots of choices today for this week’s Fervor Coulee Roots Song of the Week- anything off of Guy Clark’s album would do, the new Alice Gerrard albums is stellar, and I’m still trying to figure out how to feature Blue Mafia here at Fervor Coulee (their album is darn good)- but I’ve been loving me some Donna the Buffalo today. I was doing some serious housework today- finally, after a year, I got to my boxes of records and started getting them organized- and was playing Donna the Buffalo’s new album Tonight, Tomorrow, and Yesterday for quite a bit of the time.

I don’t know a lot about Donna the Buffalo- I have a pair of their albums, and I really liked Tara Nevins’ disc of a couple years back, but I am not an expert by any means. I do know I like their vibe, and will be checking out at least one of the concerts posted on YouTube.

Here’s what I do know- “I See How You Are” is as groovy a little summertime song as I’ve heard in awhile; light sounding, but still substantial. The version I’m linking to is from WAMU in Washington. Scroll down just a tad, and you’ll see the video screens. The album version is more developed, and very good; I do enjoy this less embellished rendition as well.

The album came out on Sugar Hill last month and should be available at all the usual places. Well worth purchasing.

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. Donald

Leave a Reply

