IBMA Awards 2013, Part 1   Leave a comment


Getting a late start this evening- ‘real’ work ran over, and with the show running on eastern time…well, the broadcast and awards show started while I was still 10 kilometres from home.

Not sure what I’ve missed. Will try to figure out where we are in the program. Saw Ickes got another one. I did some prep last night, so have a few canned comments ready.

Unlike many wise people, I don’t agree that a musician should be retired from winning a category after three, five, or ten wins. The only limit I feel should be placed on nominations is that serving IBMA Board members must remove themselves from consideration for individual awards chosen by committees of insiders.  I believe it appears distasteful when an organization bestows significant recognition upon their leadership. So, congrats to Rob Ickes on his IBMA Dobro Player of the Year Awards, I can’t get to the IBMA site right now- appears to be down, but is this really his 15th year in a row?

Lame joke off the top: playing “O Canada” for the Spinney Brothers. Imagine someone will be upset for recognizing a country other than the US.

I had significant hopes for doing more writing this past month, but it didn’t happen. I had several ideas percolating, however I elected to spend time I could have been writing on ‘real’ work. No loss, most likely.

The last couple years I’ve blogged on the evening of the International Bluegrass Music Awards presentations, and I am doing so again tonight. I appreciate those of you who follow along and appreciate my limited insights.

Earlier this month, Aaron at Lonesome Road Review asked me to complete my IBMA awards ballot. I don’t have a real vote in the awards as I haven’t been a member for years. While I was a professional, voting member of the association for a couple years a decade ago, I found little to no value of membership within an organization that makes next to no effort for ‘international’ members.

Yesterday, the IBMA presented their Momentum Awards which signify- well, I’m not exactly sure. They are like the Not Ready for Prime Time Awards, given to industry insiders and up-and-comers. The real surprise was that the fellow insiders who decide on these awards didn’t give one to Jon Weisberger. Instead, they made him president of the association. Weisberger- a polarizing figure in some circles- is also co-producing the awards show along with Chris Stuart.

Rumours that the awards presented this year were individually hand struck by Weisberger and that the Bass Player of the Year Award will now bear his name could not be confirmed. Instrumental recorded performance of the year now:

By the Waters of the Clinch,” Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, written by Doyle Lawson, produced by Doyle Lawson, Mountain Home

Foggy Mountain Rock,” Tom Adams, Dan Tyminski, Ron Stewart, Dennis Crouch, Clay Hess, Randy Kohrs; written by Louise Certain, Burkett Graves & Gladys Stacey; Rounder Records.

New Jerusalem,” Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, written by Ricky Skaggs, produced by Ricky Skaggs, Skaggs Family Records

Newton’s Grove,” Audie Blaylock & Redline, written by Richard Underwood, produced by Audie Blaylock, Rural Rhythm

NoraBelle,” Darrell Webb Band, written by Darrell Webb, Rural Rhythm

 “Pilgrim’s Knob,” Alan Bibey & Wayne Benson, written by Bill Monroe, produced by Alan Bibey & Wayne Benson, Pinecastle

I could think of a few more, including “Shady Bald Breakdown” written by John Driskell Hopkins and Balsam Range, Kathy Kallick Band’s “Old Red Mandolin” and “Joe Ahr’s Dream” and “The Deadly Fox” by John Reischman.

No problem with “Foggy Mountain Rock” winning the prize.

 

Fiddle Player of the Year:

 Jason Carter

Michael Cleveland

Stuart Duncan

Bobby Hicks

Ron Stewart

Surprised that the Steeldrivers Tammy Rogers doesn’t get a mention, and I would also add Greg Spatz to the list- everyone in John Reischman and the Jaybirds deserves a nomination. Jason Carter wins this time out; I was cheering for Ron Stewart, but am glad to see Jason get this one- a long time between nods.

 

Posted 2013 September 26 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

