IBMA Awards 2013, Part 5   Leave a comment


Not sure why Marty Raybon is there. Just my editorial piece. I liked him as Shenandoah’s singer, but not so much as a bluegrasser: realizing I am not the majority. Emerging Artists of the Year:

Della Mae
Flatt Lonesome

Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
The Spinney Brothers

The Darrell Webb Band

Rather than Flatt Lonesome, I would have had Blue Mafia on my list. I know I fake voted for the Darrell Webb band, but Della Mae just won. I hope they continue their development.

Mandolin Player of the Year:

Wayne Benson
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull

Adam Steffey

And, by now it goes without saying…John Reischman would have been on my list. I voted for Steffey, and he gets it again. For the 10th time. He is a monster, and I don’t begrudge him this one. Still, someday the bluegrass world has to wake up to the magic John Reischman produces. Adam Steffey gives good speech.

Posted 2013 September 26 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

