Special Consensus & Eliza Gilkyson reviews   Leave a comment


eliza-bigIt has been a busy week here in the Fervor Coulee bunker, and the fruit of that labour has beenjohn-denver_country-boy-tribute posted over at the Lonesome Road Review in the form of two reviews.

First up is my review of the new Special Consensus album, abluegrass tribute to John Denver.

Also up is my review of the new Eliza Gilkyson album, The Nocturne Diaries.

Both of these albums are absolutely incredible, beautiful stuff.

Special Consensus, riding a career high since joining forces with Compass Records, are approaching their 40th year under the guidance of Greg Cahill, a banjo master. On this new album Country Boy, they are joined by bluegrass and Americana luminaries including Dale Ann Bradley, Jim Lauderdale, John Cowan, and producer Alison Brown. What holds it back from a 5 star label? Two too few songs, that’s it.

Eliza Gilkyson. Man, my words are truly inadequate. I’ve only been listening to her for ten or eleven years, but over that time I’ve come to respect her every bit as much as I do Tom Russell, Mary Chapin Carpenter, and Rosanne Cash. Every time I think about Gilkyson, I remember the time- about six or eight years back- that I saw her join a First Nations circle dance at the Edmonton Folk Music Festival: the look of sheer bliss on her face as she danced has stayed with me ever since. Magic.

I appreciate everyone who visits Fervor Coulee- I hope you are finding writing of interest. Keep in touch, Donald

@FervorCoulee

 

Leave a Reply

