Jon Stickley Trio- Lost at Last review   Leave a comment


albumartJon Stickley Trio- Lost at Last www.JonStickley.com

I don’t understand jazz music; I was once told I wasn’t smart enough to appreciate it. Maybe the guy that told me that was correct.

I do understand bluegrass music; at least, I like to believe I do.

I don’t get why bluegrass musicians more frequently than their other roots brethren find need to drift into the world of jazz in a way that barely connects with the beauty that is bluegrass, in all its shades and permeations.

And, I suppose, I don’t need to comprehend what takes someone like Jon Stickley from Point A to Lost at Last. I just need to enjoy it.

Lost at Last is a journey that I was initially reluctant to embark upon, but which I was appreciative for once the first step was taken. Yes, it is noodley; the guitar notes float and blur, but they are cleanly picked with none of that annoying high-pitched ‘clitch’ when the fret board is manipulated with less precision.

The original “Rice Dream” is expansive, marked by Patrick Armitage’s percussion, and its groovy arrangement is different from the tunes surrounding it, one of which—Tim O’Brien’s “The High Road,” sans vocals—is a gentle, Celtic-infused delight. “Darth Vadar” is aggressive, a bit of an outlier from the bulk of the album which is more thoughtful and unobtrusive. A Bela Fleck-Mark O’Connor tune “Slopes” is more indicative of the album, as is the original “Pamlico Sound,” a tune highlighted not only by Stickley’s guitar talents but the violin notes of Lyndsay Pruett.

Far more than coffee shop music to read by, Lost at Last took this listener on a challenging musical voyage. I don’t think I will pay return visits too frequently, but I enjoyed the ride much more than I thought I would. Chances are, if you are a fan of sounds just outside the bluegrass big tent, it may appeal to you even more.

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. Donald

Posted 2015 October 10 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

