Catching Up on Missed Cross-Posts   3 comments


I try to link through everything I write for Lonesome Road Review, Country Standard Time, and Fervor Coulee Bluegrass here at Fervor Coulee, but inevitably some items get missed. While watching the new Bear Family DVD of BR5-49’s live 1996 German show, I thought I would try to catch some of the missed links.

I’m a big fan of Dale Ann Bradley, a great admirer of not only her bluegrass talent but of the person. I wrote a review of her latest, now Grammy-nominated, album Pocket Full of Keys.

My review of Steve Martin and Edie Brickell’s uninspired second album is over at CST. I try to be positive, but it doesn’t always work out- gotta call it like I hear it. Ditto one from the Vickie Vaughn band. A tribute to the Carter Family by Antique Persuasion, featuring a trio of respected roots types, was also missed.

Low Lily is a band I don’t know too much about, but my review of their debut EP is up at Lonesome Road Review. Mr. Sun is a quasi-grass string band led by Darol Anger. The Traditional Grass were an outstanding trad bluegrass band, and Rebel recently released a compilation. I also reviewed Allison Moorer’s and Shelby Lynne’s latest releases late last summer.

Some of my links to LRR pieces have gone dead; I’ll try to fix that over the Christmas break.

Thanks for visiting Fervor Coulee. donald

3 responses to “Catching Up on Missed Cross-Posts

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hannam is a gifted song writer, story teller and performer. However, Man of God is very offensive to Blackfoot people and residential school survivors. It was a song with good intent, but a very poor example of how to write a song about Aboriginal people.

    Do not write a song about Aboriginal people as an Aboriginal person when you are not an Aboriginal person.

  2. Ira, with great respect I disagree. The art of the songwriter, like that of any storyteller, crosses all lines including first-person narratives. No one argues that the story of the last several hundred years and the residential school system specifically is to be told by people of Aboriginal descent. However, others can also attempt to share the story. There are those who believe you cannot tell the reality of marital abuse or the horrors of war without being a female survivor of such abuse or a soldier who experienced battle. I believe that an artful and respectful creation can communicate the experiences of others, and in doing so move conversations and understanding forward. You disagree, and that is fair. I believe JWH is among the finest songwriters working, and “Man of God” is a strong song. Donald

  3. Donald,

    Agree to disagree.

    Thanks for the response, sincerely.

    All the best to you!

    Ira

Leave a Reply

