IBMA Awards 2011   Leave a comment


7:50- Chris interviews Dale Ann. As always, she spoke with eloquence of the blessings she has been provided…and earned. Grace, I’d suggest.

7:51- Kyle goes up a notch by recognizing the same qualities in DAB that I do. Not that we’re keeping score.

7:53- back to the Ryman stage. Sam Bush takes the mic. Mentions the distinguished achivement awards to: Greg Cahill, Bill Knowlton, Lilly Pavlak, Geoff Stelling, and Roland White

7:54- James Alan Shelton is about to induct George Shuffler into the Hall of Fame. I’ve spoken on the phone with James a couple times and value the time we spent backstage one year at an Alberta festival. He is one heck of a guitar player.

A very nice induction speech about ‘the third Stanley brother’ and a nice description of Shuffler’s walking bass and cross-picking styles and influence. And a very nice idea, show producers, to play audio of George’s playing as evidence of his contributions to the music.

8:00- Well done, James. George couldn’t have asked for a better introduction.

A beautiful tribute.

I saw George on stage I think only once- at Wintergrass in ’01 I believe and I think he was playing with either Dry Branch or Lynn Morris. The details are mentally sketchy obviously, but I know I recall thinking that I was seeing something special, was receiving a treat to hear him play the bass.

8:03 A nice hand for the man.

The Grascals are on stage now performing “I Am Strong.” A bit (okay, a lot) sugary for me, but the band is obviously devoted to the song. And it is nominated for Song of the Year.

Posted 2011 September 29 by Donald Teplyske in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

